User login


Winners of the boutique DESIGN Awards Announced

By Rebecca Goldberg

The first boutique DESIGN award winners were announced on Sunday, Sept. 17 at The Specifiers’ Club Luncheon at the Loews Hotel.

Congratulations to corsostaicoff, who won ‘Best Hotel’ and ‘Project of the Year’ for Hotel Max, Robert D. Henry Architects who won ‘Best Spa’ for GSpa & Lounge and Graft Lab who won ‘Best Restaurant’ for Stack.

Trophies, in the form of table lamps, were provided by Fire Farm Lighting and Edelman Leather has provided leather bags.

Moderated by Rebecca Goldberg, managing editor of Sipco Publications, the Specifiers’ Club Luncheon featured a panel of designers who highlighted what they see as current industry trends. Following the discussion, guests were treated to a buffet lunch where the winners of 15 categories were announced in front of a group of 80 people.

The first 11 turned the traditional awards show upside down, with fun and fresh categories such as ‘best revival’, ‘best decorative element’ and ‘best dramatic space.’

Here are the first 11 categories and their winners:

Best use of lighting

Morimoto – Karim Rashid

Best dramatic space

Stack – Graft Lab

Best use of color

Night Hotel – Vikram Chatwal and Mark Zeff, Zeff Design

Best flow

Four Food Studio – Karim Rashid

Best marriage

The Alluvian Spa (as married to The Alluvian Hotel) – ForrestPerkins

Best use of space

Morimoto – Karim Rashid

Best revival

The Mayfair Hotel & Spa – Farley Hunter & Associates

Best decorative element

Busan Paradise Hotel – Studio Gaia

Best outdoor space

JSix & JBar – The Puccini Group

Best use of materials

The Quays – Peter Johnston

Best concept

GSpa & Lounge – Robert D. Henry Associates

2006 speakers:

Bob Henry, Robert D. Henry Architects

David Hill, DH Designs

Jacque Johnston, The Puccini Group

Colum McCartan, MCCARTAN


Did you enjoy this article? Click here to subscribe to the magazine.