User login


Call For Entries: 2017 Gold Key Award Competition

(April 2017) posted on Tue Apr 18, 2017

Deadline for submissions extended to July 19

Designers around the globe are invited to submit their best work in the 2017 Gold Key Award for Excellence in Hospitality Design competition. Now in its 37th year, HX: The Hotel Experience’s Gold Key award recognizes the most influential and innovative interior design work in every sector of the hospitality industry.

Sponsored by Boutique Design magazine, this year’s competition has 21 categories, including a new option for Best Specialty Design. To be eligible, new-build, conversion or renovation projects must have been completed from May 1, 2016 to July 6, 2017.

The deadline for competition entries has been extended to Wednesday, July 19 and entries can be submitted via the Boutique Design New York (BDNY) or HX websites. Entry requirements include completion of an online form and a fee of $195 for each submission. A renowned judging panel will select winners and finalists in each of the following categories:

Best Eco Conscious or Socially Conscious Hotel
Best Lobby Budget/Focused Service
Best Lobby Midscale
Best Lobby Upscale
Best Lobby Luxury
Best Guest Room Budget/Focused Service
Best Guest Room Midscale
Best Guest Room Upscale
Best Guest Room Luxury
Best Suite
Best Nightclub/Lounge
Best New Hotel Brand or Soft Brand Concept
Best Resort
Best Restaurant Casual Dining
Best Restaurant Fine Dining
Best Specialty Design (a new category for 2017)
Judges’ So Cool
Best Hotel Budget/Focused Service
Best Hotel Midscale
Best Hotel Upscale
Best Hotel Luxury

Serving as judges for the 2017 competition are: Maki Bara, president and co-founder, The Chartres Lodging Group LLC; Gary Dollens, global head, design/product and brand development, Hyatt Hotels Corp.; Timothy Griffin, director of North America, Ennismore; Nigel Hatcher, vice president, design and project management, luxury brands, Marriott Intl.; Diana Kessler, creative director, Kessler Collection Design Studio; Guy Lindsey, senior vice president, design and construction, Park Hotels & Resorts; Michael Medzigian, chairman and managing partner, Watermark Capital Partners LLC; Jonathan Nehmer, president, Jonathan Nehmer + Associates, Inc.; Sangeetha Ramkumar, director—innovation and design—global brand leadership marketing, InterContinental Hotels Group; Jeanne Lynne Starling, director of design development, MGM Resorts Intl.—Design; Larry Traxler, senior vice president, global design, Hilton; and Thomas Trout, vice president, architecture and design, Dream Hotel Group LLC.

The awards gala will take place Nov. 13 in New York in conjunction with BDNY and HX, at which time winners and finalists in each category and the Designer of the Year will be recognized. The honored projects and designers will also be profiled in the December 2017 edition of Boutique Design. (Profiles of last year’s Gold Key award winners and finalists can be seen in the magazine’s December 2016 issue.)


Did you enjoy this article? Click here to subscribe to the magazine.